Theater, Thou Art a Cruel Mistress

Hello, friends!

I’ve been neglecting my blog for a while—and catching a lot of flak for it—so here I am once again! The reason for my long and unexpected departure? Well, laziness, obviously, but I was also volunteering at the local community theater.

You know how in high school you’re going to all these classes and have all these extracurriculars and you feel like there’s just no time in the day (especially after penciling in those three hours to watch TV). Yeah, that’s nothing compared to doing a show with a full-time job.

The actors had been there for a full month before the crew even showed up, and I honestly have no idea how they were still sane. Actually, the insanity defense would explain a lot…

Anyway, things I learned while working backstage:

  1. People get really sweaty. As a germaphobe who was forced into being the costume dresser, this was really not a nice thing to learn. There was so much hand sanitizer, guys. So much.
  2. Wigs are disgusting. I had never actually been near actors before because all of my theater experience was in the wings and I only ever saw people in passing, but wigs are super gross. Like, all stringy and stuff. And weird feeling. And sweaty (see above). Yet another reason I would never be able to be on stage.
  3. They have microphones on stage so people backstage can hear the show (and their cues). How I worked 6+ shows without learning this will forever baffle me, but EVERYTHING MAKES SO MUCH SENSE NOW.
  4. You wear what you’re given. Oh, your dress doesn’t fit? Sucks to be you! Shoes too small? DO YOU REALLY NEED TOES.

There were probably other things, but that’s all I can think of at the moment.

Anyway, now that the show’s over, I can get back to learning things and stuff. Not sure what will be next, but I’m voting for tennis. Who wants to teach me tennis? I have bragging rights on the line.

Leave a Reply

