The Only Thing We Have to Fear

I didn’t schedule any teaching sessions this week because I’ve been busy having 16,000 panic attacks.

Why, you ask?

Because I’m going on vacation this week! And I’m flying there. And I’m PETRIFIED of flying.

So, instead of learning some random invaluable skill (beatboxing is next, I hear?), I decided I was going to help myself overcome my fear of flying.

The process of overcoming a paralyzing fear usually falls into one camp and one camp only: exposure therapy. Or, as I like to call it, “Knowledge Is Power.” (KIP, for short.)

You can see KIP in action in a variety of different places. One example: last week’s SNL (the one featuring Kevin Hart and Macklemore). There was this skit where Steve Harvey (played by Kenan Thompson) was trying to help his guests deal with their various phobias. Kevin Hart showed up and told a harrowing tale about his fear of horses. What popped out next was a GIANT stuffed horse, and he slowly approached it and managed to pet it—and then it all went downhill when he and Steve Harvey thought they heard it talk.

But the premise stands! The best way to get over a fear is (supposedly) to learn more about it.

NOT GOOD, people. Not. Good.

I’ve spent the last week learning all sorts of airplane facts, reading articles, watching videos…and the only thing I’m sure of is that KIP is not my cup of tea. I much prefer the ol’ Ignorance Is Bliss (IIB) approach. Unfortunately, it might be a little late for that. Maybe I’ll go with sleep-deprivation-in-the-hopes-that-it-means-snoozing-on-the-plane.

For now, I will just get my meditation on and be thankful that I am flying with friends who aren’t as insane as I am.

Speaking of which, as I won’t be back from Hawaii until late Sunday evening, there probably won’t be a post next week. Unless you want SO MANY PICTURES of Kauai.

2 thoughts on “The Only Thing We Have to Fear

  1. Gossip Girl

    They say a photo is worth a thousand words, but a photo of Kauai is worth a thousand wars. Prepare your flippers, Upper East Siders. I’ve got a feeling we’re about to get wet.

    Reply
  2. Deb

    Whoever this mysterious “Gossip Girl” is, it’s some pretty impressive mimicry. If I only I knew this person!

    Additionally, I like the IIB method. Phobias are phobias because you can’t fact-learn your way out of ’em. If you could, they wouldn’t exist. And yes, I am clearly the final word on this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

