I Have Awesome Friends

It was my birthday this week, which means I’m cheating on today’s blog post. (As someone who had cake for breakfast on three separate occasions over the past seven days, I feel like a little bit of cheating is totally allowed.

Candles

I just turned 25—the big quarter-century—and this week I learned that I have some truly amazing people in my life. Not that I didn’t know that already, but there’s nothing like a birthday to make you appreciate the really important stuff:

People who understand the meme potential in this picture of an ocean sunfish.

Mola

People who bear with me as I gawk at the weird jellyfish lights that will one day grace the halls of my imaginary mansion.

Jellyfish

People who convince me that, maybe, after 24 years of reacting to the thought with utter disdain, eating seafood might not actually be that bad. Especially when enjoying it in front of a view like this one. (The fries were still my favorite part. Let’s be honest here.)

Beach

People who realize that, even as an adult, nothing beats a pirate-themed birthday party.

Birthday

People who make me dinner and buy me cookie cutters and notice that my kitchen might be lacking in spoon rests. People who wake up before dawn to trudge to yoga with me. People who are always there when I need them and who trust me to be there for them too. People who make me feel loved and important.

This week I learned that I have awesome friends, and I hope they all know how very much they mean to me.

One thought on “I Have Awesome Friends

  1. Gossip Girl

    Everyone knows you can’t choose your family but you can choose your friends. And in a world ruled by html codes and stock options, it pays to have a pal. As much as a BFF can make you go WTF, there’s no denying we’d be a little less rich without them. And Allie and the Thunder Nuggets? They do besties better then anyone. No, that’s not a tear in my eye. It’s just allergies. XOXO, Gossip Girl.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

