Aloo Gobi

Last week, I asked all of my friends (aka, the people I’m roping into helping me) what they’d like to be called in the blog. They all decided to go by self-chosen nicknames, and I have promised that I will use said nicknames for the duration of this experiment.

With that note, today’s professor was Mrs. Gregory Peck (henceforth shortened to MGP), and the item on the docket was aloo gobi. She would like me to note that Gregory Peck, winner of World’s Most Expressive Eyebrows 1944 to 2003, is her soulmate now and forever.

MGP would also like me to note, for future reference, that she is white and does not claim to know the first thing about making legit Indian food—but she can mix up some tasty potatoes and cauliflower.

Exhibit A:

Aloo Gobi

(Yes, that is totally my dining room table! I feel like such an adult.)

So, I really like Indian food. Sometimes I’m pretty sure I would cut off my right arm if it meant being able to replicate the chicken makhani and naan from the Indian place near my office. And then I remember that I really like my right arm, so it’s back to the drawing board.

I’ve never attempted to make my own Indian food because the ingredient lists are always so daunting. However, MGP assured me that this was something I could totally do. She sort of winged it on the recipe front, but here’s how I remember it:

  1. Chop up a buttload (technical term) of potatoes. 
  2. Do the same with some cauliflower.
  3. Put them in a pan.
  4. Add some other ingredients and various spices until the potato/cauliflower mixture turns a pretty color.
  5. Sprinkle in some garam masala (correct amount = however much is left over after the bag rips and seasons the floor, the chef, and the sink).
  6. Let it cook for however long it takes to Facebook stalk three mutual friends.
  7. Mash it until you can’t find the cauliflower anymore.
  8. Cut up some peppers and add to pan.
  9. Watch it cook until your stomach starts eating itself.
  10. Add fresh cilantro.
  11. Enjoy!

Moral of the story: Never use a recipe EVER because the aloo gobi was amazing.

Leave a Reply

